Research Tools

Databases
* Need an auto repair guide?
* Want to build your computer skills?
* Looking to attain your high-school equivalency?
* Do free online subscriptions to your favorite journals sound appealing?
We have a database for that! And more! These reliable resources are provided by the Garden City Library and  LiLI Libraries Linking Idaho.  

 

General Automotive Books & Reviews
Business & Careers eBooks/eAudiobooks Education
Genealogy Health & Wellness Language

Newspapers

Technology

Learning Express/Job Search

General

EBSCO Main Access - Search all EBSCO databases.  
GreenFILE - Research global warming, recycling, alternate fuel.  
MasterFILE Premier - General topic periodicals, primary sources, images.  
TOPICsearch - Explore current social, political and economic issues.  

Automotive

Auto Repair Reference Center - Vehicle diagrams & repairs.  

Books & Book Reviews

DayByDayID.org- Storytimes online.
NoveList Plus - The leading fiction & nonfiction resource.
NoveList K-8 Plus - Guide to children's fiction & nonfiction. 
OnLine Book Clubs - Be emailed a portion of newer books weekly.
Tumblebooks - Multilingual picture books, puzzles, and games. 
WorldCat - Search local and worldwide library collections.

Business & Careers

EBSCO Main Access - Search all EBSCO databases.  
Academic Source Premier - Multidiscipline full text articles.  
Agricola - Agriculture and allied disciplines.  
Business Source Premier - Research all business disciplines.  
CIS-Idaho Career Information System - Information for job seekers and employers. 
Fuente Academica Premier - Scholarly journals multiple languages.  
Legal Collection - Law and legal topics.  
Library, IS & Technology Abstracts - Indexing/abstracting database.   
Professional Development Collection - For educators, librarians, researchers.  
ReferenceUSA - Research businesses, industries, and markets. 
Regional Business News -  U.S. and Canadian business publications.  
Small Business Reference Center - Start and grow your business.  
Teacher Reference Center -  Periodical index for educators.  
Vocational and Career Collection - Trade and industry articles.  

eBooks/eAudiobooks

LibriVox - Free eAudiobooks. No checkout required. No limits.
OverDrive - eBooks and eAudiobooks, Garden City and Boise cardholders. 
Project Gutenberg - Free eBooks, no checkout required. 
The Online Books Page - Free eBooks. Hosted by Univeristy of Pennsylvania.

Education 

Kids
Think Through Math - Online math tutor. Get username and password from librarian.
Kid's Search - Research tools designed for youth K-8.  
Primary Search - Elementary school magazines and reference.  
Middle Search Plus - Middle school journals and reference.  
Science Power - Great place to work on your Idaho core standards!
Social Studies Power - Great place to work on your Idaho core standards!
Scout - Idaho Public Television video collections.
Tumblebooks - Picture books, puzzles, and games in English, Spanish, French.
WB Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - Youth Spanish encyclopedia.
World Book Kids - Tools for young students.
World Book Online for Kids - Activities for young library patrons.
World Book Online Info Finder - Elementary/middle school resource.

Students
EBSCO Main Access - Search all EBSCO databases.  
Academic Source Premier - Multidiscipline full text articles.  
Digital Literacy - Basic technology training tools.
ERIC - Education literature and resources.  
Fuente Academica Premier - Scholarly journals multiple languages.  
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - Student encyclopedia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Encyclopedias and specialized reference.
Learning Express - Online practice tests and tutorial courses.
MAS Ultra - High school journals and reference.  
MasterFILE Premier - General topic periodicals.  
Student Research Center - Research tool for middle/high school.  
Scout - Idaho Public Television video collections.
TOPICsearch - Explore current social, political and economic issues. 
World Book Student - Suite of tools for middle/high school students.
World Book Advanced - High school/college student tools.
WB Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos - Youth Spanish encyclopedia.
World Book Online Reference Center - Tools for high school & above.
World Book Classroom- Fun resources to teach Science and Social Studies.  

Genealogy

HeritageQuest Online - Genealogy for the beginner and professional.
Search Boise Cemeteries for Burials by Name or Spaces by Owner: 
Fort Boise Military Cemetery
Morris Hill Cemetery
Pioneer Cemetery 

Health & Wellness  

Alt Health Watch - Complementary and alternative medicine.  
Health Source - Consumer Edition -  Consumer health information.  
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Scholarly full text medical 
MedicLatina - Full text medical in native Spanish.  
MEDLINE - Authoritative medical information.  

Language

Pronunciator - Fun, easy, learn any of 75 languages.

Newspapers

Idaho Statesman website
Newspaper Source Plus - Newspapers, radio and tv transcripts.  

Social Sciences and Humanities

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Psychology and related disciplines.  
Religion and Philosophy Collection - World religions and philosophy.  

Technology

Computer Source - Technical and consumer computer titles.  
Digital Literacy - Basic technology training tools.

Learning Express/Job Search

CIS-Idaho Career Information System - Information for job seekers and employers.
Learning Express - Online practice tests and tutorial courses.

Back to top

Last updated: February 25, 2014 - 4:44pm by GCPLstaff